Breaking Up

“I’m just not comfortable in this relationship anymore,” She told me.

I was only a little bit surprised, I could see it coming down the road. It was inevitable.

You see, when you are in a new relationship, everything is shiny and exciting. The question is, though, will it bear out over time?

In great relationships, things always seem exciting and new, no matter how long you’ve been in it. You enjoy doing things together. It seems like there’s never a dull moment. In fact, it’s almost like the concept of a relationship disappears and it just becomes a true partnership…. like you were born to be together…. at least in that moment.

I could see that wasn’t happening in this case. Things were slowly dying. Frustrations coming out.

“Well, what are you going to do?” I asked.

“I think I need to put together a pro’s and con’s list. In something this important, sometimes its hard to remember all the good things, along with the bad. There’s been a lot of bad.”

I sighed.

“Yeah, I guess you’re right.”

We continued walking together quietly down N Street, holding hands.

It’s in these times that you reflect. You look back on the relationship and wonder where things went wrong. It seemed so right at the beginning, how could it have changed that quickly? I swear it was only just last week she was raving about how great things were going.

Maybe it was my fault. I sort of talked her into the whole thing. Maybe she just got caught up in the excitement of everything. Maybe we should have thought things out a little bit more.

And this, my friends, is how the break-up occurred last night.

We’re sad, but I think we’re both ok with it.

We’re going to take some time over Thanksgiving and wrap up some loose ends, but then that should be that.

It’ll be nice to be with family and friends over the holidays, to help console us over the loss.

It just won’t be the same anymore, but life goes on.

The night after GF decided to break-up with her cell phone.

14 responses to “Breaking Up

  1. Hah, knew it. Although I thought it was going to be you breaking up with your car or something.

    I would have a much longer and more intense break-up email if it were my car. I love that thing! Argh! It saddens me to even think about breaking up with it. Eep!

  2. ps – congrats on the Express yesterday!

    Thanks. I’m glad the entire DC area knows that I can be beaten up by a woman in a bar fight. So much for my intimidation factor, eh?

  3. Wow, I thought you were totally gonna kill the emotional buzz I have going for Thanksgiving. Glad you crazy kids are still together.

    heh heh sorrrrry 😉 I’m glad we’re still together too! Too bad about her phone though, that stupid thing deserves to go to the garbage dump!

  4. No one is in the office, so you will need to blog more to entertain me.

    Haha I’ll see what I can do. Sorry to ditch out on you today, I hope you blog about your major incident from yesterday. I want to read the full discourse!

  5. Dude, I was all ready to commiserate with you because my BF broke up w/me about a month ago and blah blah waah waah

    Now I just feel dumb.

    Heh.

    Awwwww… sorry to hear about your ex. That sucks 😦 I hope you’re feeling better! I’m still available to commiserate with you though!

  6. Man, here I was preparing to try to not fall in high heels to get your attention.

    WHATEVER

    Awwwww sorrry! Don’t let that dissuade you from wearing heels though!

  7. Booooo you tease! Here I was feeling all bad for you.

    I know what it’s like to go through a phone breakup though… I’m about ready to throw mine right out the window.

    I know what you mean. I’m considering what to do with mine right now. It’s been 2 years and I just can’t decide if I want to get a new one or not. It’s not necessarily in the best health, but it still works ok. I’m just not sure I can bring myself to break-up with it.

  8. The part about “walking together quietly down N Street, holding hands” while having this conversation is what got to me. I was about to get all teary-eyed for you!

    Awwww sorry! You can be sad for her cell phone though, it was a sad moment!

  9. Oh man, I was all about to be like “Oh i am so sorry” “You will find someone else.”

    Next time I will not fall for your trickery

    Trickery? What trickery? 😉

  10. You’re a dick.

    I was going to offer to buy you a beer. Now I think you have to get me one.

    Awwww did my widdle story make you saaaaad?

  11. It was Verizon, wasn’t it? It’s always effin’ Verizon.

    Glad for the twist at the end! 🙂 Happy Thanksgiving!

    Sprint! I hate those fuckers

  12. Dr. H (formerly known as H)

    Is it bad that I hate my new phone (and by new I mean June) and want to go back to using my old phone?

    If you’re on AT&T/Cingular/whatever the fuck it’s called now, you should see my cell phone guy at KofP this weekend.

    Sprint unfortunately. I hear ATT sucks too. They don’t make cell phones like they used to.

  13. You’re sweet! And I definitely am feeling better. He was pretty worthless, in hindsight. 😉

  14. What a fake out. I wonder how many other people got suckered in.

    Sorry about that. Glad that you are upset that I didn’t break up with GF 😉

Leave a Reply

