Mmmmm Beeeeeeeeeer

I think I love London.

Well, I’m not sure if I really love London, but I love the English culture.

Ok, I’m not sure if I really love the English culture, but I sure do love English Pubs.

(we’ll just ignore the fact that when I 1st wrote that last sentence, I accidentally wrote “English Pubes”)

English Pubs rock.  If only we had them in the US.

Sure, we have a number of Irish pubs and English pubs scattered around the city…. but that’s not the point of these places.  The point is that EVERY corner has a pub.  It’s like your home away from home.

GF and I went back to the pub we ate at the other day, and had a fabulous time sitting around drinking and being merry.  She drank some very girly draught cider, while I had some very manly… uhh…. draught cider.

Ok ok ok, work with me here…. ok?  For the sake of this blog entry, just do me a favor and let’s pretend it’s manlier than it really is.

Anyway, the point is, that earlier in the day we had hung out at her sister’s local pub…. and it just wasn’t the same.  It didn’t feel right.  The food and the beer just didn’t taste quite as good.

I missed MY pub….. *smacked by GF* errrr OUR pub.

(I really need to reconsider letting her read these entries while I write them…. it’s author abuse!  Argh! She’s beating me while I write this.  Help! Help! Someone send for help! Aaaaigh!)

Ok sorry for that brief insanity intermission.

I’ve been here for 4 days, and already I have an attachment to a pub.  I’ve lived in DC for 10 years, and don’t have the same attachment to any bar there.  What the heck?

Well, I think it all comes down to the homeyness of the pub.  It’s a small but gorgeous bar.  Brick and wood all around with comfortable seating areas, a raging fire, and great food and beer at good prices.  I would show you a picture, but unfortunately, I won’t be able to download pictures off my camera until Wednesday…. so until then, you’ll just have to imagine it.

So, cheers to you Prince Edward Pub – I’ll be missing you when I depart…. but until then?  I’ll be seeing you again tomorrow!

My favorite pub in London

My favorite pub in London

ps. If you go with my original misstype and read this entire entry replacing pub with pube, it’s pretty darn funny, and a little bit disturbing.

2 responses to “Mmmmm Beeeeeeeeeer

  1. ok, so here’s the historian side coming out… but have you asked about your local? A lot of the pubs, at least in smaller towns, are old. and I mean older than the US type of old. how cool is that?

    The one we frequented is pretty old – not sure how old, but it seemed old. Definitely really cool

  2. There’s got to be something like that here in DC, that truly captures the essence of the PUB… Fado’s the closest I’ve found (thought it’s always so busy), and the Irish Channel isn’t bad, and has the best Guinness I’ve found.

    Yeah – that’s what I was thinking, but those are irish pubs. Apparently there is a new english pub that opened up in Columbia heights – I’ll have to go investigate it now.

Leave a Reply

